Throughout 3 weeks time we have been given a task for each week. Each week the task has been different and more difficult as we learn more about 3DS Max. So far I really enjoy creating 3D models like this as they are given at random and it is so unexpected as well as fun.

The first week our teacher put lots of objects on a table (e.g. an iron, a set of headphones, a hammer etc.) and each object had a playing cards underneath them, next we had to pick a card shuffled by the teachers. The card you pick would match an object on the table then you model that random object. I picked the card that lead to modelling what is called a ‘pipe bender’. At first I had no idea what it was called but so to start with it was called ‘Thingy’, but it is known as a tool that bends pipes to fit together.

This object was one of the most difficult objects on the table but I was glad that I got a card that challenged me. I did research on my object by taking photographs and videos so then I could have evidence of observation and it would help me to model. Below is my evidence.

My method of working around this object was to break the object down in my mind. I broke the object into different shapes for example the main section is cylinders with holes in, a few of the torus shapes and free-form shapes. Throughout this first week of 3DS Max I have learnt:

  • How to use the ‘Wield’ Tool.
  • How to ‘Target Wield’.
  • How to ‘Attach’.
  • Using the selection of ‘Vertex’, ‘Edge’, ‘Border’, ‘Polygon’ and ‘Element’.
  • How to use ‘Swift Loop’.
  • How to ‘Lock and ‘Unlock’ and Object.
  • How to ‘Copy’ an image.

Here is my final Product:

I am proud of my final outcome as I didn’t believe that I could do it as soon as I saw the object that I had to model but I finally got to a result I was happy with and I am happy with what I have learnt. My favorite part of this model has to be the little bits of detail as I thought they would be quite difficult as they were curved and shaped differently to the rest of the object.

Also special thanks to Paul Starkey and Barry Briggs for helping me on certain aspects of my model as well as teaching me new techniques.

Follow their blogs here:

http://paul-starkey.com/blog/

https://hunterp13.wordpress.com/